top of page


The Seventeenth District PTA is one of 28 District PTAs organized by the California State PTA. We represent 89 local PTA/PTSA associations ('units') and 7 PTA councils in San Mateo County.

The district serves as the connecting link between the local unit and council PTAs and the California State PTA. It is responsible for collecting information from units and councils to send to the State PTA and disseminating information from the State PTA to units and councils. 17th District also provides numerous resources to unit and council PTAs, including officer training events.

17th District holds events for schools and associations in San Mateo County. Our annual Superintendents Luncheon is a place for PTA members to meet and chat with principals and superintendents from across the county. Our annual Founder’s Day Luncheon celebrates the anniversary of the founding of PTA, in which we present Honorary Service Awards to community members who have made significant contributions to PTA and elect our new officers every other year. We also hold an annual 'Spring Training' event comprising training, a speaker, and (in alternate years) installation of new officers. In addition,  the 17th District is a contributor to the San Mateo County Court & Community Schools and Foster Youth programs.

Our Units and Councils

Many units within the 17th District are organized within a PTA Council. The council is a PTA organization that typically covers units within a school district. Councils have their executive board and meetings. The council level is responsible for providing assistance and leadership to their unit officers, training, etc. Council presidents are automatically members of the 17th District PTA Board of Managers and represent their council and its units at 17th District board meetings.

Units not organized under a council are deemed 'out-of-council' units and fall directly underneath the 17th District. 

If you have PTA questions, please contact your council president or email them to


Belmont-Redwood Shores Council of PTAs

Units include:

  • Belmont Central Elementary PTA

  • Benjamin Fox Elementary PTA

  • Cipriani Elementary PTA

  • Nesbit Elementary PTA

  • Opening Doors: a Belmont Redwood Shores Special Services PTA

  • Ralston Middle School PTA

  • Redwood Shores Elementary School PTA

  • Sandpiper Elementary School PTA

Burlingame Council of PTAs

Units include:

  • Benjamin Franklin Elementary PTA

  • Burlingame Intermediate PTA

  • Hoover Elementary School PTA

  • Lincoln Elementary PTA

  • McKinley Elementary PTA

  • Roosevelt Elementary PTA

  • Washington Elementary PTA

Jefferson Council of PTAs

Units include:

  • Benjamin Franklin Intermediate PTSA

  • Daniel Webster Elementary PTA

  • Fernando Rivera PTSA

  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Elementary PTA

  • Garden Village Elementary PTA

  • George Washington Elementary PTA

  • Jefferson High PTSA

  • John F. Kennedy Elementary PTA

  • Margaret Pauline Brown Elementary PTA

  • Marjorie H. Tobias Elementary PTA

  • Susan B. Anthony PTA

  • Westlake Elementary PTA

  • Westmoor High School PTSA

  • Wildcats PTA

Millbrae Council of PTAs

Units include:

  • Green Hills Elementary PTA

  • Lomita Park Elementary PTA

  • Spring Valley Elementary PTA

  • Taylor Middle PTA

Redwood City Area

Units include:​

  • Henry Ford Elementary School PTA

  • Roosevelt Elementary PTA

  • Special Education PTA of Redwood City


San Bruno Park Area

Units include:

  • Allen Elementary PTA

  • Belle Air Elementary PTA

  • John Muir Elementary PTA

  • Portola Elementary School PTA

  • Rollingwood Elementary PTA


San Carlos Council of PTAs

Units include:

  • Arundel Elementary PTA

  • Brittan Acres Elementary PTA

  • Central Arroyo PTA

  • Heather Elementary School PTA

  • Tierra Linda Mariposa PTA

  • White Oaks Elementary PTA

San Mateo-Foster City Council of PTAs

Units include:

  • Abbott Middle School PTA

  • Audubon Elementary PTA

  • Bayside S.T.E.M. PTSA

  • Baywood Elementary PTA

  • Beach Park Elementary PTA

  • Beresford School PTA

  • Borel Middle School PTA

  • Bowditch Middle School PTSA

  • Brewer Island Elementary PTA

  • College Park Elementary School PTA

  • Fiesta Gardens International Elementary PTA

  • Foster City Elementary PTA

  • George W. Hall School PTA

  • Highlands Elementary PTA

  • Laurel Elementary PTA

  • LEAD Elementary PTA

  • Meadow Heights Elementary PTA

  • North Shoreview Montessori PTA

  • Parkside Elementary PTA

  • San Mateo Park Elementary PTA

  • Sunnybrae PTA

Sequoia Union High School District Area

Units include:

  • Carlmont High PTSA

  • Menlo-Atherton High School PTA

  • Sequoia High School PTSA

  • Woodside High School PTSA


South County Area

Units include:

  • La Entrada Intermediate PTA

  • Las Lomitas Elementary PTA

  • Woodside Elementary PTA

South San Francisco Council of PTAs

Units include:

  • Alta Loma Middle PTA

  • Buri Buri Elementary PTA

  • El Camino High School PTSA

  • Junipero Serra Elementary PTA

  • Los Cerritos Elementary PTA

  • Martin Elementary PTA

  • Monte Verde Elementary PTA

  • Parkway Heights Middle School PTSA

  • Ponderosa Elementary PTA

  • Skyline Elementary PTA

  • South San Francisco High PTSA

  • Spruce Elementary PTA

  • Sunshine Gardens Elementary PTA

  • Westborough Middle School PTSA

bottom of page